Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Homepage College Homepage
Research Guides

HI 481 Senior Seminar Masur: Chicago

History Senior Seminar, Fall 2022

Chicago Style Guide

The Chicago citation style is typically used by scholars in fields such as Humanities, Economic and Business, Education, Fine Arts and Music, History, Politics, and Theology.

The 16th edition (2010) of the Chicago Manual of Style is the most current edition in use, and features two style formats: Author/Date and Notes/Bibliography. Be sure to pick one style and use it consistently throughout your paper.

Citation Breakdown (Notes-Bibliography):

 

Citation Breakdown (Author-Date):

Art Works

Notes/Bibliography

Works of art reproduced in a printed source (treat as book chapter)

Artist’s last name, first name. "Title of art work," medium, date
          of art work (Institution where art work is housed (if known),
          city where housed if not already named). In Title of printed 
          source italicized, by Author of printed source, page or
          plate/figure/slide number. Place of publication: publisher, date.

Example:

Cassatt, Mary. "Mother and Child," oil on canvas, c.1890 (Wichita Art
           Museum). In American Painting: 1560-1913, by John Pearce,
           slide 22. New York: McGraw, 1964.

Works of art reproduced in electronic source

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work, medium, date of art
          work (Institution where art work is housed (if known), city
          where housed if not already named). URL.

Example:

Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny, oil on canvas,
          1885 (Museum of Fine Arts, Boston). http://www.artstor.org.


Images

Notes/Bibliography

Image from a library subscription database:

Bibliography 

Hoshiko, Eugene. "China Rain." Photograph. 1999. AP Images, ID99062401980.

Notes 

Eugene Hoshiko, "China Rain," photograph, 1999, AP Images, ID99062401980.

Image from an online database:

Bibliogrpahy 

Currier & Ives. "Gray Eagle." Lithograph. ca. 1866. Library of Congress Prints                       and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2006676682/           (accessed September 25, 2010).

Notes 

Currier & Ives, "Gray Eagle," lithograph, ca. 1866, Library of Congress                                   Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/                       2006676682/ (accessed September 25, 2010).

Image from a website:

Bibliography 

Wilma, David. "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle." Photograph. 2001.                       HistoryLink.org, http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=                                 output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

Notes 

David Wilma, "El Centro de la Raza, Beacon Hill, Seattle," photograph,                                   2001,HistoryLink.org http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage                           =output.cfm&file_id=9186 (accessed September 25, 2010).

In-Text Citation