- Academic Earth
Free online video courses from leading universities.
- Annenberg Learner
"Uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers." Includes films appropriate for college students.
- Archaeology Channel
- C-SPAN Video Library
Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987. Watch the Clarence Thomas confirmation hearings, the Challenger explosion, and much more.
- European Film Gateway
"Access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials...The EFG offers a look at and behind the scenes of filmmaking in Europe from the early days until today. The EFG facilitates online access to historical documents and leads you directly to the archives that hold the originals."
- Folkstreams
"Folkstreams.net has two goals. One is to build a national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures. The other is to give them renewed life by streaming them on the internet. The films were produced by independent filmmakers in a golden age that began in the 1960s and was made possible by the development first of portable cameras and then capacity for synch sound. Their films focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different regions and communities."
- FORA.tv on YouTube
Brilliant ideas are shared everyday, everywhere, and we don't want you to miss them! FORA.tv makes live streaming easy for conferences and events. Subscribe to our YouTube channel and watch engaging videos from partners like WIRED, The Atlantic, Intelligence Squared, Carnegie Institution for Science and more.
- Forum Network
"The Forum Network is a PBS and NPR public media service in collaboration with public stations and community partners across the United States. Through an expanding network of local public stations producing content with their community partners, we intend to bring a diverse range of perspectives on both local and global issues to audiences around the world. The Forum Network online library features thousands of lectures by some of the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policy makers and community leaders, available to citizens of the world for free."
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
"Contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."
- movieclips
"With over 12,000 movie clips, you can search, find, view, discuss and share scenes from your favorite movies."
- PBS Video
- Public.Resource.org
An interesting collection of films created by federal agencies, including: the Iran Contra Hearings; the Royal Ballet of Cambodia; and several long clips of The Roswell Reports ("eyewitness accounts").
- SnagFilms on YouTube
Watch free movies on SnagFilms! From award-winning independent films to groundbreaking documentaries, we've got you covered. All our films are hand-curated by our editorial staff of film lovers and filmmakers to ensure that each time you visit SnagFilms, you are sure to Discover Something Different.
- TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
"On TED.com, we make the best talks and performances from TED and partners available to the world, for free...We believe passionately in the power of ideas to change attitudes, lives and ultimately, the world. So we're building here a clearinghouse that offers free knowledge and inspiration from the world's most inspired thinkers, and also a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other..."
- Vimeo
"Vimeo was created by filmmakers and video creators who wanted to share their creative work, along with intimate personal moments of their everyday life. As time went on, like-minded people came to the site and built a community of positive, encouraging individuals with a wide range of video interests."
