Get Started - PO102 American Government - Lucas - Research Guides at Saint Anselm College

Use the resources in this tab to pick a topic and find background information about that topic or issue. Many of these resources provide factual information, as well as pro/con points of view.

Print reference books are located in the reference collection on the short stacks behind the reference desk. Use the three search boxes on the right to find entries in hundreds of online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.

Finally, use CQ Researcher to find a report on your topic that will provide you with an overview of the issue, the most important points, etc.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
eBooks [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Core electronic reference collection, this collection of online subject encyclopedias provides in-depth articles on a wide range of topics, with an emphasis on the social sciences.
Oxford Reference [OXFORD] This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides background information on a wide range of topics, particularly in the humanities.
230+ in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Presss award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers scholarly works.
Credo Reference [INFOBASE] This link opens in a new window
Online reference database enables simultaneous searching of 100 scholarly reference works, across all areas of study.