Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page will help you find academic books and articles about political debates. From these sources you want to find the following information on your debate topic tha:
- background of the issue, including a definition of terms,
- evidence for both sides of the argument,
- analysis and justification for choosing one side,
- three main points in favor of your side, and
- scholarly interpretations on the impact of debates
Books - Start Here
Use this box to search the Geisel Library catalog for books and other materials in the library collection.
Several of the best books on debates can be found with a Subject search on:
Campaign Debates - United States
Is This Book "Academic"?
To make sure the book you find is "academic", look for these characteristics:
1) Footnotes and bibliographies
2) The author has a post-graduate degree
3) Often (but not always), academic books are published by a university press
Journal Articles - Start Here
This database includes many scholarly journals with articles about political communication, including debates.
Once inside the database, use the various limiters to narrow your search.
Journal Articles - Other Sources
Make sure your article is "academic" by checkmarking any available limiters to restrict your search to academic, scholarly, or peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
America: History and Life [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Locate abstracts to journal articles and books focusing on United States and Canadian history and culture.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for scholarly literature in political science and international relations.
These two scholarly journals have good substantive articles on political debates.