Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Find Articles

Ask a Librarian!

Contact the Reference Desk

	Email askanselm@anselm.edu
	Chat
	Text (603) 556-8883
	Call (603) 641-7306
	Make an Appointment

Core Article Databases

Search the following databases to locate journal articles in the field of Criminal Justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database for criminal justice topics containing full text of the most important journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology.
Criminal Justice Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to a healthy mix of scholarly and trade journal articles related to criminal justice research.

Additional Databases

Depending on your topic, you may need to search other subject-specific databases. Following are some databases that overlap with criminal justice:

Social Science Database [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and trade periodicals related to sociological research.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core resource for accessing scholarly research in the field of psychology, including all aspects of behavioral science and mental health.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.

Research Tips

Use Google Scholar to search for articles that may not be in the library's databases. Google Scholar searches nearly all publisher websites.

Note: If you find yourself being prompted to purchase an article, instead request the article through Interlibrary Loan (see instructions from the "Get Full Text of Articles" page.

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

Criminal Justice: Find Articles