Research Guides: Sports Studies: Get Started

Selected Subject Headings

Search the library catalog or Worldcat to locate books in Geisel Library.

Listed below are a few subject headings that would be of interest to those performing sports studies research.

Search Discovery

Great Places to Get Started

A Dictionary of Sports Studies
Call Number: ONLINE in Oxford
ISBN: 9780199213818
Contains authoritative entries on the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well as entries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy. It also features biographies of key sportspeople, information on international organizations and institutions, and detailed appendices.
Encyclopedia of sports in America : a history from foot races to extreme sports
Call Number: REF GV583 .E53 2009
Traces the fascinating and often tumultuous growth of sports in America—how the icons, the commercial enterprises, the sporting events, and even fan culture have changed from decade to decade and era to era.
Encyclopedia of sports science
Call Number: REF GV558 .E53 1997
International encyclopedia of women and sports
Call Number: REF GV709 .I58 2001
Covers the world of women in international sports and provides articles on all aspects of the history and the current state of women's sports. Included are more than 230 biographies, 170 individual and group sports, and 75 country profiles, plus examinations of cultural, societal, health, and ethical issues.

The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine
Covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles.