Research Guides: Peace and Justice Studies: Find Articles

How to Get Full Text of Articles

If the full text of an article is not available in the database, here are tips for getting it elsewhere:

In the databases, click to see if the full text is:
- in another database,
- in Geisel Library's collection,
- or if you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan.
Search the journal's name in Journal Finder to see if we have access to the year/volume/issue you need.
For more help, ask a librarian or see the FAQ on finding full text:

How do I get the full text of an article?

News Databases

If you're looking for news articles, try the following databases:

US Newsstream [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text international, national, and regional newspapers. Titles of note include Boston Globe, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and The Guardian.
Access World News Research Collection [NEWSBANK] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, and national level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Core Article Databases

Search the following databases to locate scholarly journal articles in different subject areas related to peace and justice:

War and Terrorism: Gale OneFile [GALE] This link opens in a new window
Collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in the War and Terrorism Collection will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Core database in sociology offering full text journal articles plus citations for books and conference papers dealing with all aspects of sociological studies.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Use WPSA to research topics relating to political science including public and social policy on the domestic and international levels.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use Criminal Justice Abstracts to locate research on various aspects of criminology.

Additional Databases

Depending on your topic, you may need to search other subject-specific databases. Following are some databases that overlap with peace and justice studies:

Philosopher's Index [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use this database for philosophical articles pertaining to peace, justice, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use CMMC to research the role that media plays in society.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Even though its primary use is for psychology research, PsycINFO does index a number of journals in the field of sociology. Depending on your topic, it can be helpful and at times necessary to see how the field of psychology is researching your topic.
Education Research Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles related to education about peace and violence, as well as articles related to children's issues.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is an excellent starting point for finding scholarly journal articles and popular magazine articles on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR [ITHAKA] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary research database. Full text access is limited to backfiles (generally on a 5 year rolling wall basis).
Use Interlibrary Loan to request access to current content.
**Library subscribes to JSTOR collections: I-VII, AAF pamphlets, Biological Sciences, and 43K+ monographic titles
All other titles can be accessed via Interlibrary Loan.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST] This link opens in a new window
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.