Research Guides: Newspapers: Newspaper Databases

Modern

Access World News Research Collection [NEWSBANK]
Comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, and national level. Diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Canadian Newsstream [PROQUEST]
Full text access to over 400 Canadian newspapers.
Includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
International Newsstream [PROQUEST]
Full text access to the world's top newspapers.
Includes access to: The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series
News: Gale OneFile [GALE]
Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals.
Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
ProQuest Central [PROQUEST]
Core interdisciplinary database, contains full-text journal articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, and business and industry profiles.
Sunday Times Historical Archive [GALE]
Digital access to The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006. Access to the complete run of the newspaper up to 2006, including all of its supplements.
Times Digital Archive [GALE]
Digital full-text access to every issue of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 through 2014, except for Sunday editions (which are available through the Sunday Times Digital Archive).
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Regional Business News [EBSCO]
Full-text articles from 75 regional business publications covering the United States.
US Newsstream [PROQUEST]
Collection of full text international, national, and regional newspapers. Titles of note include Boston Globe, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, and The Guardian.

Historical

African American Newspapers (Series 1, 1827-1998) [READEX/NEWSBANK]
Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 270 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.
Beginning with Freedoms Journal (NY)the first African American newspaper published in the United States the titles in this groundbreaking series include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freemans Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
Boston Globe-Historical [PROQUEST]
Full-text/PDF page-image of articles published in the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1986.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation [READEX/NEWSBANK]
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic American newspapers (1690-1876), including 37 from New Hampshire.
New York Times-Historical with Index [PROQUEST]
Full-text/PDF access to the New York Times, from 1851 to four years ago via ProQuest.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851-4 years ago
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers [GALE]
Digital cover-to-cover images of hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, providing access to every article, advertisement, and illustration.
Sunday Times Historical Archive [GALE]
Digital access to The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006. Access to the complete run of the newspaper up to 2006, including all of its supplements.
Times Digital Archive [GALE]
Digital full-text access to every issue of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 through 2014, except for Sunday editions (which are available through the Sunday Times Digital Archive).
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Newspapers: Newspaper Databases

JOURNAL FINDER

Modern

Historical