Research Guides: Mathematics: Find Reference Sources

Why Use Reference Sources?

These resources may prove useful in a variety of ways, including the following:

Provide a starting point for research
Offer definitions and explanations of mathematical concepts
Serve as a quick reference for standard mathematical tables and formulas that can help you solve problems

Wolfram MathWorld
A comprehensive illustrated math encyclopedia, with illustrations and some interactive animation.
WolframAlpha
A search engine that uses built-in algorithms to compute answers to math problems and other queries.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
An online reference for locating mathematical functions classified by specific categories.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics
Call Number: Ref QA5 .I8313 1993 v.1-2
ISBN: 0262590204
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics
Call Number: REF QA164 .H36 2000
ISBN: 0849301491
Handbook of Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists
Call Number: Ref QA40 .P72 2007
ISBN: 1584885025

NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
An online reference for locating mathematical functions classified by specific categories.

VassarStats
An excellent interactive resource that helps users make statistical computations and perform statistical procedures, such as t-tests and analysis of variance.

A Dictionary of Statistics 3e by Graham Upton; Ian Cook
Call Number: ONLINE in Oxford
ISBN: 9780199679188
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Call Number: QA276.14 .E84 2010
ISBN: 0521766990
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Call Number: REF HA29 .S2363 2007
ISBN: 9781412916110
The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms
Call Number: Ref HA17 .K4 2003
ISBN: 0198509944
Handbook of Probability and Statistics with Tables
Call Number: Ref QA273.B925 1970

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
This site offers lengthy biographical articles on mathematicians, overviews of math history organized by topic and time period.
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
This project includes biographical essays on some 150 female mathematicians. The essays include photos and bibliographies of further readings.
Mathematics Genealogy Project
The goal of this website is to compile information about all recipients of doctorate degrees in mathematics in the world, including their universities and advisors, going back centuries.